How to Delete Notion Account and Flush Data?

Are you concerned about the security of Notion?

Maybe you’re frustrated at the fact that Notion doesn’t have end-to-end encryption.

And, you want to delete your Notion account and all of its data.

Well, it’s quite normal to be concerned about your privacy.

After all, you’re using Notion to store your data. And, some data can be very confidential.

It’s true that Notion claims to be very serious about your privacy and security, but in fact they have access to all of your data.

For whatever reason, if you’ve decided to delete your notion account, this post is for you.

Now let me show you how you can do that:

Before I start, let me remind you, once you delete your account, you can’t undo it. So, think about it once again and decide if you really want to do it.

Are you still determined about deleting it?

Alright, let’s start then.

First of all, you should backup all your data from Notion. It’s always a good practice to backup your data before deleting an account. So that for any reason if you need to retrieve anything, you’ll have the option to do that.

Backup Notion Data

To backup your Notion data, first, go to the workspace you want to backup/export. Then click Settings & Members (top of your left sidebar) and choose Settings.

Click Settings & Members

There you will see Export Content. Under this section, you will find Export all workspace content. You need to click this button.

Export all workspace content

A pop-up window will appear. From there, select the Export format. You will have the option to choose from HTML, Markdown & CSV, and PDF (Enterprise Plan only).

Export everything

You’ll also have the option to export everything or export only the data (No files or images).

Just select your preference and click Export. It may take some time depending on the amount of data in your Notion.

After Notion prepares your backup, you can save the zip file to your computer. Notion will also email you a link to download the backup but it will expire after 7 days.

You need to go to each workspace and export your data if you have multiple workspaces.

Note that, you can only backup your Notion data on desktop or browser, not on your smartphone.

Now that you’ve got the backup of your data, you can proceed to the deletion of the Notion account.

Delete your Notion account

Again you need to go to Settings & Members.

Settings & Members

If you want to delete only the workspace, you need to select Settings under the Workspace section.

Scroll down and under the Danger zone section, you’ll see the entire workspace button.

Deleting the workspace

Click that button and a pop-up window will appear. Now you’ve to type the name of your Workspace and click Permanently delete workspace.

Permanently delete workspace

This way, you can delete your entire workspace.

But if you want to delete your account, again go to Settings & Members and select My Account.

Then scroll down and you’ll see the Danger Zone section. Click Delete my account and again a pop-up window will open.

Deleting the account

This time you need to type your email address and click the Permanently delete account option.

Permanently delete account

This way your account and all of your private workspaces will be deleted and you’ll be removed from all the shared workspaces.

This is how you will delete your Notion account with all the workspaces.

But what if you feel the need to restore your workspaces or even account?

You can do that as well. You need to contact Notion’s customer experience team within 30 days of deletion, so that they can help you restore it.

If you’re wondering how you can remove all your Notion data from the servers?

Like I’ve already told you, your data will be on their server for 30 days. After that, your data will be automatically removed from the server.

Conclusion

As a user, you have the full right to be concerned about your privacy.

And, Notion seems to have a problem with that. Even with other apps, you should be very mindful about what you put there.

If you’re insecure about Notion, you always have the option to delete your account.

Here, I’ve shared everything I know about deleting Notion accounts.

Whether you should do it or not completely depends on you.